The Finance Brokers Association of Australia (FBAA) has announced its new state presidents and councillors for 2019, with a strong and dynamic team set to serve the industry.

Felicity Heffernan is the newly elected president for New South Wales and the Australian Capital Territory, bringing 30 years of finance experience to the role.

Ms Heffernan said she is eager to give back to an industry that has been good to her for many years, and have a voice that helps shape the broking industry now and into the future.

The president for Victoria and Tasmania is Brendon Kurtz, who in 2011 bought into Outsource Financial, the largest privately owned and independent aggregator in Australia.

He said his main objective for 2019 is to continue bringing high quality professional development to both metropolitan and regional areas of Victoria and Tasmania.

Christine Green has been reappointed president for Queensland and Northern Territory for the fourth year, bringing over 20 years experience in banking and finance.

South Australian president Joff O’Shannessy is back for the fifth year. He has been a finance broker for more than 23 years, running his own business for 18 years.

Trent Carter has been reappointed Western Australian president, and is aiming to have wider reach across the local industry by having council representatives from residential, commercial, asset, regional, licence holders and ‘new to industry’ members.

Mr Carter said he is excited to develop more frequent, smaller events targeted to industry niches, delivering locally relevant content.

Peter White, managing director of the FBAA congratulated all elected state presidents and state councillors for 2019, and is looking forward to the diversity of already established and newly elected individuals.

“This new team consists of champions and advocates of the finance broking sector, inspiring brokers around the country.”

2019 state councillors:

QLD/NT – Bruno Klos, Graham Dossel, David Randall,  Angelo Lauro, Maree Blakemore, Malyson Sayabath

NSW/ACT – Miro Marinkovic, Vache Vartanian, Matt Attia, Nicholas Wormald, Janel McClelland, Rocco Massaria, Victoria Coster

VIC/TAS – Oliver Carrington, Sadish Visvalingam, Kim Fang Chen Wen, Kirsty Dunphey (Tas), Emmanuel Guingard, Bernard Desmond, Hari Maragos, Nataliya Thompson

SA – Kym Russell

WA – Nicole Kennedy, Tania Busch, Nicholas Harper